A junior license is a big milestone for young drivers in New York. Unfortunately, young drivers often have no idea what they are doing on the road. They are unaware of the consequences of tickets and reckless driving. They allow themselves to drive distracted.
Driving with a junior license has a special set of rules. It is important that young drivers know and observe the difference between their license and a regular driver’s license.
A junior license is different from a junior learner’s permit, mainly in that a junior learner’s permit requires a licensed driver over the age of 21 to supervise at all times. A junior license only requires a supervising driver over the age of 21 at certain times.
What Happens When a Junior Driver Gets a Ticket in New York?
There are applicable fines, points, and insurance price hikes for junior license tickets. Drivers who commit a serious infraction or who have two other violations will have their license suspended for 60 days.
A serious infraction is one with more than three points attached to it. Speeding and texting while driving are in this category, but there are a lot of infractions that carry three or more points.
There will also be a 60-day suspension if an infraction has been incurred within 60 days of a suspension or revocation of the permit.
What Are the Restrictions for a Junior License?
With a junior license, the following exceptions apply.
On Long Island, junior license holders may drive unsupervised in the following areas:
- To and from work (only if carrying proof of employment)
- A work-study program approved by the state
- College, high school, or other post-secondary schooling
- Approved driver’s education
No drivers with a junior license may drive unsupervised in NYC! Drivers holding only a junior license are subject to ticketing.
Drivers may drive between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m only if they are driving directly from school or work to and from home. Proof of employment may be required.
Junior license holders may drive at any time in Upstate New York provided that there is no more than one person under the age of 21 in the vehicle. Everyone must wear a federally approved safety belt or a child safety seat.
What Are the Restrictions for a Junior Permit?
While driving between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. in Upstate New York, a junior permit holder must have a supervising adult over the age of 21 in the front passenger’s seat. They must hold a license for the class of vehicle being driven.
If the permit holder is driving between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. in Long Island (Nassau and Suffolk) as well as NYC, they must have a parent, legal guardian, or driving school instructor in the front passenger seat. The supervisor must also hold a license for the class of vehicle they are supervising.
Permit holders may not drive between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. in NYC, Suffolk County, or Nassau County.
If driving in Upstate New York between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m., the permit holder must have a legal guardian, parent, or driving school instructor in the front seat. The supervisor must hold a license for the class of vehicle they are supervising.
Under no circumstance shall more than one passenger under the age of 21 be in the vehicle.
At all times, persons shall wear a federally approved safety belt or child safety seat.
Junior permit holders may not drive in the following areas under any circumstances:
- Any road within a park in NYC
- A bridge or tunnel supervised by the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority
- A DMV road test area
- Any of the following roads in Westchester County:
- Cross County Parkway
- Hutchinson River Parkway
- Saw Mill River Parkway
- Taconic State Parkway
What To Do if Your Junior Driver Gets a Ticket in New York
The State of New York is tough on young drivers because studies show that they don’t understand their actions as well as adult drivers. The rules are designed to teach responsibility and ensure the safety of everyone on the road.
Consequently, it is difficult to deal with a traffic ticket by yourself. Contact an attorney right away if your junior driver gets a ticket in New York. The lawyers at the Law Office of James Lynch and Associates are experienced in dealing with these types of tickets and can help reduce the difficulty they cause.
Call us right away at 1-833-LEDFOOT (833-533-3668)